Halo 5 In Review

In Review: Halo 5 In Review

Adam and Lawrence discuss Halo 5's successes and failures, and manage to not give it a score!

Binge Mode

More In Review

See All In Review Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (70)

  • maxseijo FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    These are of the best reviews I've heard for video games. Keep doing them!

  • Bbqsauce FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I really like this series so far, and I've always preferred this method of review. Obvs FunHaus is a group of very knowledgeable gamers, and it's nice just to hear honest opinions and objective observations from a group like that so that we as consumers can judge purchases for ourselves. So thank you, Adam and Lawrence, for keeping it real.

  • RandomChic

    1 year ago

    I absolutely love the idea of doing reviews without scores because we get to hear solid facts then your opinions and we get to base our own opinions on that. 10/10 Two thumbs up!

  • Froswald FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    review xcom 2 when it comes out

  • japoki808 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I love the idea of a "no score" review and enjoyed the more "casual" tone of this review compared to the highly critical tone of some other reviews. I also like how you had multiple reviewers to bring different experiences/perspectives to the review. More please!!!

  • thraaaaaaa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Do more, is good

  • BrooksFRanklin

    1 year ago

    Absolutely loved this! Please produce more! Maybe go back and review a few older games if anyone was on the fence about.

  • FR66 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Love these kind of non-review reviews. Numbers are pointless. Happy someone sees that. Would love to see more In Review. Keep up the awesome work.

  • Gunmaster260 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Make more reviews!

    The campaign, to me however, was great. It introduced Team Osiris very well, You see how Master Chief is so attached to Cortana, but not too attached to forget what's good/bad. Exuberant was an excellent character. And the Arbiter' s Civil War explained where the Arbiter had been the last 5 years, and you help him push into the Covenant's final stronghold. Although they didn't go into detail on how Blue Team just showed up out of nowhere, it was still a deep and rich story.

  • Caeric An Observer

    1 year ago

    The narrative of Halo 5 is quite a left-turn from what I thought was going to happen. Signs pointed, I thought, to the appearance of the IsoDidact and a return to the lesser Ark -- and an explanation for where Guilty Spark went. I thought the Flood would return (it IS still out there). I thought we'd see some payoff on Mendicant Bias, maybe even see Offensive Bias.

    What we got feels like the tip of the iceberg, and a whole campaign shouldn't be that. There's so many important pieces of lore that they didn't address in the game. Lots of story threads that seem significant from the EU (like Mendicant Bias being conspicuously missing, and Guilty Spark on his Librarian search quest), and incongruities that demand explanation (the Domain is not a Forerunner invention, it's a Precursor one -- Cortana doesn't seem to be aware of this, which suggests she's being manipulated by the still-pissy Precursors).

    It's weird. Halo 4 had the best story of a Halo game (and I have always said so, and goddammit to Jack Patello for insisting nothing happens in Halo 4), but lackluster multiplayer. This game has great multiplayer but lackluster story. Maybe Halo 6 can combine that? With dual-wielding?

    • CastClaw Engineer of Adventures

      1 year ago

      Guilty Spark went nowhere. You kill him in the last level of Halo 3.

      However we have seen there are more of his kind and we may see an appearance of something similar to him in Halo 6

    • Caeric An Observer

      1 year ago

      Guilty Spark got better. He was the narrator of the second Forerunner book, recovered from his fried CPU by ONI operatives. Seized their ship, froze 'em, and took off in search of the Librarian.

  • OnlyAverage FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I think the thing that disappointed me most was where they went with Cortana. I know she is supposed to be bat-shit now, so in the context of the story it makes sense for her to act out of character, but it still negates the personal storyline between her and chief of their humanity from Halo 4. I was hoping that the Didact would have been the main villain of this trilogy (instead of being killed off in a comic series) and Chief went rouge in order to find Cortana because he knew she would be the key to stopping him just from a gut feeling, ala Halo 3 when their connection caused him to just know he had to find her. It also would have allowed up to actually accomplish something in the game, instead of basically being in the same place we were. Not to mention there were no where near enough levels being played the Chief.

  • Matt317 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold the guy

    1 year ago

    While the story did feel underwhelming and obvious set-up for something better, I still enjoyed it. As a longtime fan of the lore there were alot of things that I was glad to finally see in a Halo game, even if at times, as Adam said, it came off as "fanservicy".

    But even with that, the campaign and multiplayer are still fun, the gameplay is top-notch, and the soundtrack is probably the best in the series thus far. Even with its setbacks, Halo 5 is still a phenomenal game that I can see myself playing alot of until Halo 6 comes out, which I don't doubt will be even better.

    Great review by the way, guys!

  • Balarush FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Kneel.

    1 year ago

    I'm guessing Adam never read the story summery of each level. On the 2nd level is tells you Chief went back to Blue Team to help cope with losing Cortana. As for who Blue Team are, Buck and Locke describe that in Evacuation on the elevator. It's there, you just have to pay attention.

    As for the story, everyone knew it was the middle child of the new trilogy. I was happy with the ending, it set up so much for the next game, not necessarily Halo 6, but for any spin offs as Halo is now a yearly franchise. Everyone is bitching that they'll have to wait 3 years or more for the sequel, but with the way 343 are doing things, I wouldn't be surprised if they had numerous games between then adding to it in some form or another. Granted, the ending wasn't self contained and left a lot in the air, but again, middle child.

  • TheBobfather

    1 year ago

    Keep it up dudes

  • chuavelo FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Loved this, thanks guys, I'm 100% in agreement with you about the lackluster story, what a bummer! Please make more of these!

  • silverbulletday FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Shy

    1 year ago

    Loved the review, and I'd love to see more of these

  • NickLap FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I would like for you guys to continue it. At least long enough for an episode on Fallout 4.

  • Nittin22

    1 year ago

    The thing with Halo is that it has turned into where the games are just a single part of the lore instead of a good chunk of it. There are now books that are canon. If you read the books you know where Blue team came from. The books explain the Mantle that Cortana refers to. There is also the history of the forerunners and precursors that supplements the games. There are books that explain the beginning of Infinity and how the Elite war started. The games are focal points to wrap up the endings of what began in the books. To understand Jul M'dama and his full origin you need to read the books. The games are simply a part of the many ways the story is being told. You can get a general idea from the games, but to really understand what is going on you need outside information. I personally love this because the story has continued even when the games are being developed. Yes there are some things that are not explained, but it is a more cohesive story than it appears by simply playing the games.

  • Resply RTX London Guardian 2017

    1 year ago

    I love this!

  • valathor95 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I'd have to disagree about the story, I loved it!!

  • AdamReyy

    1 year ago

    Really liked the video hope to see more. fingers crossed for Fallout 4 but that is such a massive game.

  • spartann117

    1 year ago

    Could you do Assassin's Creed next. Also loved the video.

  • acrcmb FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Good to see these back, it's cool to see more casual reviews not geared towards getting on meta critic, I agree with all the points made the story felt like a huge missed opportunity and also I felt playing as the two different teams wasn't really beneficial because their narrative perspectives weren't that different and the characters lacked interesting variation in personalities and played identically to the point where a lot of the time I lost track of who I was and what team I was on. Arena multiplayer feels great but Warzone felt like it lacked direction and I found myself just wandering around more than I'd like and at times it felt like the req system was having a pay to win effect especially in terms of vehicles but this was probably made worse by the fact I tried it at release so people hadn't had much time to earn the cards naturally.

  • pcarney

    1 year ago

    Great video, great format, excellent presentation. I would love to see more of these for new releases - I also think it's better to have the videos come out a while after the game has been released.

  • TRSChaos FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    More please

  • QuantumPump FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    This was great, I would love more of these.

  • Gildarts FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold That Guy

    1 year ago

    I just can't bring myself to watch this video. I like Game Club since it is/was more of play the game together thing I guess, but I lost interest since too many games that came up were well known already so it became redundant and I also had no money to buy the few I liked already. I mean who does a book/game club in order to discuss media that everyone has already consumed and discussed with everyone else prior to the meeting? Bringing more obscure titles to people's attention adds value for me. It shows me something I wouldn't normally see on the front page of steam or in the list of E3 trailers or in a bunch of LP's.

    Maybe it's hairsplitting, but having a series where review is in the title flies in the face of the no review "policy" that's been around forever. It also suggests that it will heavily focus on popular games and well see the previous paragraph for why I don't like that. My reason for interpreting it that way is due to a couple reasons. First, it is about reviewing a game previously played without the audience knowing in advance. Second, the first episode is on Halo 5. Simply put, for InReview to work as a show you would generally need to speak about a well know game to keep it relevant to the audience and the path of least resistance there is the triple A titles. Thing is: I already know about those games, so why would I watch? If you do cover an obscure title, but I don't know ahead of time then I won't watch since I've never heard of that game. So the only solution post-pilot episode is to inform the audience of what game is going to be covered in the next episode, but we already have Game Club. Seems redundant to me.

    Maybe if you wanted to merge the concepts together it would work better. Take Game Club's book club style where we know in advance and combine it with a revolving cast of people who have an interest in the genre of game covered that week, but also someone who generally doesn't care for that type of game. Focus more on obscure or simply overlooked titles that got overshadowed by the big names. Then when you really feel like you have something to say about a triple A release it won't define the show. I'd also prefer the name Game Club over InReview. Despite InReview being a really good name for a show I've always appreciated that Rooster Teeth tried to focus on the positive aspects of a game rather than the negatives(not giving it a score means nothing to me). That set you guys apart from everyone else that eagerly awaited the chance to shit on a game. When a developer messes up they mes up, but I really like that you guys are aware of the fact that people spent years working on that product.

    • tskalabri

      1 year ago

      Watch the video, before you write three paragraphs of text without knowing what is in the video

  • AbstractSpaces FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Great video. Having major playback issues though. C'mon RT you should have this shit fixed by now.

  • Matt317 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold the guy

    1 year ago

    I enjoyed this review, though I have to agree this sort of goes against Burnie's policy of not having RT be a game review site.

    Also as a huge fan of the lore like Adam, I still enjoyed the story even if it did feel more like set-up for the final act.

    • Odomiss

      1 year ago

      this isnt RT this is the know which just happends to be run by RT and also all of the know is basically game review after game review

  • GaminginAUS FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Always up for shite with

    1 year ago

    I agree with most of your points, but in halo 2 you actually achieved what the original mission for the Spartans was, the capture/kill of the covenant leaders. In that regard halo 2 was a better game in relation to the continuing story and I 110% agree that halo 2 left people wanting more. Having said that, I haven’t actually played halo 5 from beginning to end, just been watching those amazing coops.

    all in all fantastic review and I cant wait for more

  • DDragon7 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Would love more of this series

  • DigitalVirus927 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I would watch more of these. Great info guys. Keep it up.

  • Sappy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Fantastic review!

  • CalebHorner FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I like this style of reviews without a score, and hope to see more! Although thought I'd voice that I really did enjoy the story. My gripes about it would be the missions that all took place in the same location, although I thought they were really good, and that the game was a pretty obvious middle-of-series-entry. I think that the story may seem better after the next game comes out, because it seemed to spend so much time setting it up.

  • cosmicsaturday

    1 year ago

    I absolutely loved this review, please do more!

  • ThisFire FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Kovik and I pretty much have all the same views for this game. Love the multiplayer and the game mechanics, but as big Halo fans and fans of the lore, this one greatly disappointed...

    On another note, i really enjoyed this video! i hope to see more like it in the future!

  • JarrydBracke FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I really enjoyed this review

  • Nightmage FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I assume you made this review some time ago, but Warzones is not a replacement to Big Team Battle. Big Team Battle is coming out this week.

  • Frasafrase

    1 year ago

    This is great. Way better than most reviews IMO.

  • X_Nation_1 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Hi guys, I really enjoyed this review. I'm often turned off by snap, quick judgements just throwing out a number. You did a good job covering all aspects of the game. For example throwing a 9/10 on a game is often misleading. Covering campaign, multiplayer arena and Warzone shows more in depth into what is good & not so much in the game. Would like to see more of these type of vids.

  • isaiahf FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Wannabe YouTuber

    1 year ago

    Great video. As a huge halo fan I agree with all your points. But I'd say the campaign is worth playing just because it is really fun and challenging even if the story isn't that good.

  • DentyFresh FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Enjoyed the review, sounded like a fair assessment of the game

  • Shinn FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Sponsor

    1 year ago

    And I absolutely love the changes to movement and control. The gameplay is modeled after the spartan canon in a way that feels completely natural, but more importantly, preserves the spirit of Halo in a way that makes the game more enjoyable and more refined than any other modern shooter.

  • Shinn FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Sponsor

    1 year ago

    I loved that we got to see the end of the civil war on sanghelios. That was probably the most important story element, aside from the greater world state at the end of the game. The AI stuff was really interesting too, but again it just wasn't developed as much as I'd liked.
    I enjoyed the game, and I'm happy with it, but I really am disappointed that we'll never get to see the type of story the ad campaign and hunt the truth series hinted at.

  • Bighippie FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Some Guy In AZ

    1 year ago

    I liked it.

  • garettb

    1 year ago

    Nice format.

  • ChippyDip FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Lover of Facial Hair

    1 year ago

    I would love to see more reviews like this, because I enjoy the less formal format and the conversational feel of the video. Descriptions of what you liked/didn't like about a game are more informational and important than a straight-up score and half-hearted paragraph review on some other website, at least in my opinion. The fact that with this type of video you can go into more of the particulars of a game that aren't normally talked about are a huge point in your favor.

    I would love to see you all do this with other games, because you have the ability to give your opinion in an impartial way that doesn't seem demeaning to the game at all. Great video, awesome review. Can't wait to watch more!

  • MrWykydtron FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    Adam and Lawrence, I hope you guys read this. I had never watched any Inside Gaming, but as soon as I heard about Funhaus and it being a part of Rooster Teeth I've watched you guys an, I've always appreciated the way both of you approach video games, with level heads and justified opinions. I really hope you keep this series going because I've always wished Rooster Teeth did reviews, even though the founders were never a fan of it after a certain incident back in the Drunk Gamers days involving a microwave. Please, make more and keep up the good work.

    P.S. If you do a Fallout 4 review, I'm going to have to wait until the end of the semester to watch it because I'm focusing on school work even though I own the game, but trust me, I will watch every single one of these you guys put out.

    Thank you!

    • SirLarr FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 year ago

      Wow, thank you!

  • EggsCaliber FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 year ago

    I like this style of review, a sort of casual conversation about all of the elements, not necessarily focusing on a solid rating

  • TheSnowFox FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Lone Wanderer

    1 year ago

    I SAY YES!!!