Tom Clancy's The Division In Review

In Review: Tom Clancy's The Division In Review

So we recorded this a while ago, and we're a little late on it. We'll cop to that. But we were pretty busy the last couple of weeks, and most of our opinions hold up, I think.

Binge Mode

More In Review

See All In Review Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (8)

  • AtomPlane FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    11 months ago

    I really enjoy this style of reviewing much more than the IGN or Gamespot style reviews (Though those certainly still have merit, as it's still a knowledgeable persons opinion). The lack of a numbered rating system allows those who are watching to think "This is a perspective of the game, from a person whom I trust the opinion of". Which I believe prompts others to consider the positives and negatives of a game, rather than just deciding that it is either "good" or "bad". Having a numbered rating system really just tempts a reader/viewer to skip to the end and decide whether or not to be mad about the number not being in line with their preconceived expectations. It seems silly to break the experience of a person down to an arbitrary number of stars, since those same stars are used to determine the worth of another chunk of that persons time while doing a completely different thing. Great job on this anyway, I think you found the only way that RT/Funhaus reviews should be done (informal, informative, honest, and open to interpretation).

  • NerfKittens FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    11 months ago

    I think this is one of the Few FPS i would like to play based just on appearance. from what i have seen of the game play looks great.

  • AceofAces007 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    11 months ago

    After playing this game myself, I think a lot of what they said is pretty spot on, but I don't think they really addressed how un-fun the Dark Zone is. Honestly, the Dark Zone right now is probably the most aggravating experience I've ever had, so much so that it's turned me off to the game since that was all that was left after completing the repetitive tasks in the rest of the map. It sounds like this review was conducted before the Dark Zone was revised to lessen penalties for dying as a rogue as a way of incentivizing people to go rogue. And yet, even though you'll lose less money and experience per death than you did before, the game is still just as unforgiving, maybe even more so. With the changes in the Dark Zone came a significant rise in instances of people going rogue, which makes level progression nearly impossible unless you travel in a tight group with teammates or already have the top-tier gear. Don't even bother trying to do it solo; you're too easy of a target for players who already have some of the best gear and are just absolute bullet sponges while your armor is made of paper mache. You could easily see hours of game time negated in an instant because of how unforgiving the Dark Zone is, and that's just in level progression alone, never mind instances where other players steal your loot. Lawrence is right that the separate Dark Zone ranking is one of the stupidest things about this game, but I think even he underestimates how much of a grind it is due to the system actively punishing you for dying. It's a situation of taking one step forward and three steps back, and yet this is the Division's end game.


    That's another thing too. The Division has almost no real end game whatsoever. When you complete all the story missions and side stuff (including collectibles), the only things left to do is the Dark Zone, and doing Daily Missions on a harder difficulty for potentially high quality gear, but the same 4 missions are the only ones that offer the best gear in the game, and only one of them is worth doing just because of how impossible the other 3 are, even with a full team of 4.


    It was a fun game when I was playing it at first, but it immediately became aggravating when I reached the end game and had to deal with the mess that is the Dark Zone. Believe me, I agree with Lawrence that it is an interesting idea to punish players for dying so that there's tension and paranoia calling for a more cautious style of play, but I feel the Dark Zone is too unforgiving. It should be the case that when you leave the Dark Zone, you've reached a "checkpoint" in your level progression, so that when you go back in, you won't drop below that checkpoint mark. You may lose an entire session's worth of experience if you get ambushed enough times trying to extract some amount of loot, but at least it's a net gain of 0 for the day instead of actual negative progression. A system that has negative progression just isn't rewarding, especially when it already feels like a grind.

    • NickMarler FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      11 months ago

      It sounds crazy, but try having a better build on your character and only go into the Dark Zone with friends. A real inside tip is that the better loot drop is in DZ-05 and DZ-06 while the rouge agent killing is in DZ-01 to DZ-03. So just stay in DZ-06 and DZ-05

  • MichaelWaite FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Ponetastic

    11 months ago

    "It's not an MMO."


    Proceeds to describe an MMO.


    So fucking META...

    • PureMatty FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      11 months ago

      no. just an MO

  • Draginator FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    11 months ago

    I for one really like the game because of it's beautiful graphics on top of the fun gameplay. I am exclusively a pc gamer right now so I never got to play destiny to compare it to.

    • Outis FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Non Mea Culpa

      11 months ago

      I feel the same way. I don't have any consoles, so The Division feels really new to me, and the environment is gorgeous. Plus, it perfectly scratches my Borderlands itch.